Click on this link to order copies through my Amazon Author Page.



Publication Date:    26th April 2024

Paperback Edition: ISBN 978-1739367565

eBook Edition:         ASIN: 

Conditions Are Different After Dark: Overview

In 1660, a man is wrongly executed for signing the death warrant of Charles I. While awaiting execution, he asks to speak with a priest, to whom he declares a curse on the village that betrayed him. The priest responds with a counter-curse, leaving just one option to nullify it.

Over four centuries later, Faith and James move to the country to start a new life and a family. They learn that their village lives under the curse uttered by the hanged man. Could their arrival be connected?

Faith and James fear that their choice of a new home is no coincidence. Unexplained events hint at threats or warnings to leave, including the slaughter of their hens, an attic break-in and other menacing incidents. They become convinced the village continues to live under the curse despite denials from their new friends. Who can they trust, and who are potential enemies?


Contemporary Horror, Alternative History, Dark Fiction, Mystery, Folklore, Thriller, Commercial Fiction.

USP and Target Audience

The book is set in a secretive village with a dark history, living under the effects of a curse issued centuries ago.

The target audience is readers with an interest in folklore, destiny, conspiracies and the abuse of power.

Conditions Are Different After Dark will appeal to readers who enjoy novels by Catrina Ward and Andrew Michael Hurley.


Publication Date:    14th October 2022

Paperback Edition: ISBN 978-1-7396309-2-8

eBook Edition:         ASIN: B0BCX1FZRR

The Visitors: Overview

Fourteen years ago, Peter saved the world. Now, his sister Emily and two strangers receive coded invitations to return to the hidden village of Templewood.

Templewood is home to the Sect, a secretive organisation intent on global power. They have infiltrated many Governments and are collaborating with the Visitors: alien invaders who have brought gifts of advanced scientific and genetic discoveries. These gifts will potentially provide enormous benefits for humanity. But at what cost?

Emily and their friends must uncover the truth before their worst fears are confirmed.


Speculative Fiction, Grounded Science Fiction, First Contact, Conspiracy, Great Reset.

USP and Target Audience

The Visitors is set in a hidden corner of England, where a mysterious group is planning world domination with the aid of gifts brought by alien invaders.

The book asks important questions about climate change, benign dictatorships, freedom of choice, ethical values, genetic modification and communication between humans, animals, plants and aliens.

The target audience is readers with an interest in science fiction, ethics, conspiracies and political change.

The Visitors will appeal to readers who enjoy novels by J G Ballard, Andrew Michael Hurley, Nick Harkaway, David Mitchell and M John Harrison.


Publication Date:    1st May 2020

Paperback Edition: ISBN 978-19162126

eBook Edition:         ASIN: B0858BXSDW

Another Life: Overview

Imagine: if we could combine dreams with reality in a world where we live forever.

Oliver believes his life to be one of disappointment and failure. Haunted by the memory of a mysterious woman encountered thirty years ago. he embarks on a journey embracing grief, hope, myths and legends to find her.


Contemporary Fiction, Myth & Legend Told as Fiction, Speculative Fiction.

USP and Target Audience

The novel describes a quest, combining folklore, legends and ancient beliefs with the protagonist’s reminiscences of his family life. It explores the social and ethical questions raised by the use of emerging technology to store and manipulate thoughts, dreams and memories, and the potential for dystopian applications.

The target audience is readers with an interest in mysteries, quests, folklore, ethics and science. I believe it will appeal to readers of Nicola Barker, Scarlett Thomas, Sarah Perry, David Mitchell, Haruki Murakami and Andrew Michael Hurley.

The book has potential for film or television adaptation.


The Invisible College Trilogy Front Covers

Book 1: They Do Things Differently Here

Publication Date: August 2015

Paperback Edition – ISBN 978-1908135711

eBook Edition – ISBN 978-1908135728

Book 2: Dust and Shadows

Publication Date: 10th February 2016

Paperback Edition – ISBN 978-1908135148

eBook Edition – ISBN 978-1908135704

Book 3: A Perilous Journey

Publication Date: 3rd October 2016

Paperback Edition – ISBN 978-1908135667

eBook Edition – ISBN 978-1908135674

The Invisible College Trilogy: Overview

When the Walden family moves to Templewood, teenagers Emily and Peter find that leaving the City for ‘a quieter life in the country’ is the least of their problems. Bubbling beneath the surface of their new home are challenges that could change their world forever, and end ours.

Templewood is an isolated community that is absent from maps and has no communications links with the outside world. The village is home to the Sect, a divided organisation planning an apocalyptic event intended to establish world domination, but which may destroy the planet.

The Sect has existed since ancient times, acquiring power and influence by infiltrating the major political movements of each age. Periodically, the Sect receives revelations of scientific knowledge that underpin its power base. Adherents now await the imminent discovery of the most significant advance to date which will provide them with the means to assert global domination by triggering a world-changing event, though there are divisions as to whether this will benefit or destroy civilisation.

Emily and Peter’s arrival is no accident; their mother and father may know more than they admit. The Sect has identified Peter as the chosen individual who holds the key to revealing the final piece of information necessary to trigger a world-changing event. One by one, mysteries are uncovered, until the terrifying objective of the Sect becomes clear.

There is little time in which to find who is responsible. How far will they go? Should they be stopped? Can they be stopped? If you were the only ones who could save the world, where would you begin? Who would you trust?


Young Adult, Teenage Fiction, Literary Fiction, Adventure, Mystery, Dystopia, Coming of Age.

USP and Target Audience

The unique feature is the truly original world-changing event and conspiracy, relevant to a global audience. The book can be read as an adventure novel, with or without awareness of the literary and historical allusions. It will appeal to young adults from 11 years.

Why the Books Will Appeal to Young Adults

A mystery story and an adventure, with major themes of conspiracy, a hidden community, ancient myths and mysteries, the quest for hidden knowledge and treasure, moral values and freedom of choice. The trilogy can be read simply as a conspiracy novel, or enjoyed for the hints of paranormal possibilities. The trilogy will make an excellent film adaption.

Overview of Volumes

Book 1. Discovery of the isolation of the village and the control exerted over its inhabitants.

Book 2. Revelation of the prophecy of a world-changing event, its nature and scale, and the connection to the family.

Book 3. The battle to save the planet and the human race.

To Order the Books

The Invisible College Trilogy is currently out of print. The author has a limited number of copies for sale. Please contact him through the Contact Details page.

All other books can be ordered from Amazon UK, or from Waterstones,  Blackwell’sFoyles, Barnes & Noble, or independent booksellers, including Maldon Books, the Wivenhoe Bookshop and Red Lion Books, Colchester.